The mission of the Woman’s Collection at Texas Woman’s University is to collect, preserve, promote, and make accessible the lives, legacies, and history of American women. The Woman’s Collection is the largest source of research materials on Southern and Southwestern women in the United States and in 1979 was designated by the Texas legislature as the state’s official collection on the history of women. The Woman’s Collection provides primary source material to historians, scholars, journalists, genealogists, policy makers, authors, educators, filmmakers and documentarians worldwide.
Built in 1896, this structure is one of Denton County’s most celebrated and iconic artifacts. It is the centerpiece of the downtown square. The building was restored in 2004 using the original blueprints of architect W.C. Dodson. It is constructed of limestone from Denton, pink granite from the Austin area, red sandstone from the Pecos region, and tan sandstone from Mineral Wells. Today the courthouse serves as a reminder of Denton County’s history. It is home to the Courthouse-on-the-Square Museum as well as John B. Denton’s grave. Lectures, exhibits, and community organized events are scheduled throughout the year keeping this local gem an active site for experiencing the past.
Owned by the citizens of Denton County, the Historical Park is a hub for residents and visitors to grow and learn together. It is located on Mulberry Street just south of Denton’s Historic Square, a short walk from the 1896 Courthouse-on-the-Square Museum.
The park is home to the Bayless-Selby House museum and the Quakertown House museum as well as our Welcome Center which is also a historic Denton structure. Future plans for the park include the renovation of the Taylor Log Cabin and the Woods House, a second Quakertown house. The park has plenty of open space and regularly hosts community events such as the Farmers’ Market, the Community Market, live music, storytelling, and more. Come visit a little piece of Denton County’s past right here in the present.
The Texas Fashion Collection is a repository of nearly 20,000 historic and designer garments and accessories spanning 250 years of fashion history. Operating under the auspices of the College of Visual Arts & Design at the University of North Texas, the TFC is framed as a research resource that primarily serves its communities of students, researchers, and scholars but also makes its collection available to the public through programming and off-site exhibitions.